Two wheels are better than four…

I will ride with this crew for as long as they would have me.

I will ride with this crew for as long as they would have me.

Everyday brings a new dawn and all that jazz. I woke up this morning at 5:06 am and my son walked in the room at 5:16 am. I am not a person who has to have sleep,  I would rather have about 30-45 minutes to myself every morning. It is just my time. Collection of thoughts, food, and contemplation of how I am going to attack this day. Now my son has taken that away from me and it has been shown to me with utmost clarity that it is no longer about me.

My oldest son is now just past 4 years old and is riding a bike like I did when I was 8 or 9 years old. Pride does not describe what I feel for my son. Every time he asked to ride his bike I hop up from wherever I am and get him outside as fast as possible. I rediscovered biking when I lived in NYC and it is something that I will take to my grave. I bought a commuter bike, built a fixed gear, have a cruiser, and am working on getting another frame from my father-in-law to build another fixed. I would rather bike than drive a car and am working my ass off to get to that point in life. I have had the advantage of bike commuting for 2 years of my life and I hope to do it again. B’ham not being the most biker friendly, but changes are a coming. Seeing his love for the 2 wheels makes me watch with enjoyment that I did not know existed 8 years ago. Watching those wheels spin with my son controlling the revolution brings clarity to the cycle of life and why we do this everyday. When you actually look at life it is very simple. You wake up you do some stuff and then you sleep just to wake up and start over again and again and again if you are fortunate enough to be allowed to stay here to see it many times. It is about what you do with that small circle before you lose your grip on the waking life.  Josiah has made my purpose in life much clearer and not to put too fine a point on it, I wait most moments for those things that will take my breath away. Now I do have another son and he does the exact same thing as much if not more. I have not forgotten about Porter. Being a father of two I had always heard that you loved them both the same. I did not believe it, but it is true. The love is not the same, but it is equal.

If someone had told me 10 years ago that I would be thankful everyday for everything that I experience, I would have probably laughed at them and taken another drag off a cigarette. My life has changed so much in such a small time. I realize every moment that I somehow won the lottery and I was the only one that was told what the prize entailed. Sorry to be so serious, but it was one of those weeks. I hope you were not bored and thank you for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two wheels are better than four…

  1. Anne Sockwell says:

    You have a real gift of sharing your heart, making me laugh, making me think, and stressing the basic elements of thankfulness, curiosity, wonder, and love. Carry on!

Leave a Reply

